earth hour? not if it gets in the way of my beer

3

March 28, 2008 by juniorannex

Earth Hour?  Not having any of it thanks.  I already do more to ‘save’ the earth from myself than most of my neighbors.  More hysteria from folks who won’t be content until we are living in grass huts while mommy and daddy try to save the family from starving on the one acre patch of land granted by the Earth Firsters to the Kulaks…

  • recycling?  Check.  Including separating the little plastic windows from the interminable junk mail  – which just drives my wife crazy;
  • composting?  Check.  Been doing that since i could peel a potato safely – thanks mom and dad;
  • second hand car?  Check.  Of course this makes me an enemy of labour by denying them their god given right to union manufacturing jobs.  F*ck you buddy, the earth must come first;
  • reel mower?  Check.  on-line banking? Check.  turn the furnace off at night? Check.  use dishwater in the veggie garden?  Check.  [no, really – you’d be surprised at how tasty the cucumbers turn out]

I do this voluntarily because I want to .  I don’t lecture my neighbours, family or friends and I sure as hell am not going to be guilted into showing my ‘love’ for the earth because the goracle and wwf and assorted other do gooders say I must.   If you love civilization, freedom and the use of reason, keep on all the lights you need on Saturday. Take Back the Night.

Lights on Baby!

3 thoughts on “earth hour? not if it gets in the way of my beer

  1. Jacky Tar says:

    Don’t hold back, (edited) – tell us how you really feel 😀

  2. juniorannex says:

    I did. The more interesting question is what about Jacky’s opinion?

  3. […] get me wrong – as I have said before, I do quite a bit on my own to keep the peace with this hunk of rock without anyone having to […]

Leave a Reply

Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron'scruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience. C.S. Lewis

RSS H2G2

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Onion

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

StatCounter

wordpress stats

The Beautiful Game

fc-bayern

Archives

Junior’s Headspace and Timing

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
